Advertisement

BULGARIAN SCALES

topic posted Sun, January 7, 2007 - 3:40 AM by  Rick
Share/Save/Bookmark
well as long as we are on these last fascinating threads about the theory and practise of Bulgarian music,

Anyone one take on the description of what scales (including 1/4 note embellishment , if any)
that characterize Bulgarian music?

Also, do these scales vary much from Hungarian and other Balkan musics?

I know that the Western mode Lydian: 1 2 3 #4 5 6 7 8va
has always sounded Balkan to me.

I've also been using a Lydian flat 7 scale a lot recently 1 2 3 #4 5 6 b7 8va
which sounds more Indian (I know it is a Rag, but so are all of the Western Modes in Indian music)

Would that be a no no in tradtiional Bulgarian singing?
posted by:
Rick
Advertisement
  • Unsu...

I honestly couldn't tell you, cause I'm not good at music theory and I only know unaccompanied vocal music. I THINK it totally depends on what music from what region you're talking about. lots of vocal music from the west of bulgaria is in a very small range - less than an octave. is that what's called a pentatonic scale? also, certain regions use slides (rhodope) - which has nothing to do with a scale. also, vocal ornaments are significant components of the genre but cannot be transcribed in a scale, given that the intervals are very small. i can think of songs with a flat 3rd where the fourth tone is a smidge more than a whole step from the third, but I wouldn't even call it a 1/4 note. also lots of Shop songs use a minor pentatonic scale where the second is between a 1/2 and whole note from from the 1.

Ask a gadulka or tambura player - they would probably be able to answer. they have more strings...